Winners of the Baltic Assembly Prize in Literature, the Arts and Science in 2023

On 6 October, the meeting of the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly took place in Riga. During the meeting, members of the Joint Jury decided that the winners of the Baltic Assembly Prize in 2023 are Antanas A. Jonynas (Lithuania) in Literature, Peeter Laurits (Estonia) in the Arts and Arnolds Laimonis Klotiņš (Latvia) in Science. 

Antanas A. Jonynas was nominated for the collection of sonnets “Naujieji sonetai”. Peeter Laurits was nominated for his outstanding and versatile work as an artist and for his project “Biotoopia”. And Arnolds Laimonis Klotiņš was nominated for his monographs “Mūzika pēckara staļinismā: Latvijas mūzikas dzīve un jaunrade 1944-1953 (Music in Post-war Stalinism: Latvian Music Life and Creativity 1944-1953)” Rīga: LU FMI, 2018 and “Mūzika bēgļu gaitās: Latviešu mūzikas dzīve un jaunrade pēckara Eiropā 1944-1951 (Music in Exodus: Latvian Musical Life and Creative Work in Post-war Europe 1944-1951)” Rīga: LU LFMI, 2022.

Among the Jury members, there are highly acknowledged artists and experts from Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia - Karl Martin Sinijärv, Elin Kard, Anu Noorma, Donata Mitaitė, Petras Skirmantas, Valdemaras Razumas, Ilze Jansone, Orests Silabriedis and Valdis Muktupāvels.

The Prize aims to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic states; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic states in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic states.

The Prize consists of a monetary prize, a certificate and a statuette, which are awarded annually during the Session of the Baltic Assembly. This year the Prize of the Baltic Assembly will be awarded during the 42nd Session of the Baltic Assembly to be held on 23 - 24 November in Tallinn. 

Other candidates for the Baltic Assembly Prize 2023

In Literature

Mr Rein Raud, writer and poet, is nominated for his novel “Päikesekiri’’ (“The Sun Script’’, published in 2021)
Ms Kristīne Ilziņa, writer, is nominated for her short story collection “I Will Not Testify Against You” (Zvaigzne ABC, 2022)

In the Arts

State Choir “Vilnius” for the synthesis of creativity and professionalism, an implementation of non-traditional events and projects and innovative artistic solutions and for one of the most significant and important projects – the International St James Festival
Mr Kaspars Putniņš, conductor, is nominated for his outstanding achievements both in Latvian and the Baltic culture and for his performance with the Latvian Radio Choir in the concert “The Dream Stream” that was a part of the Baltic Music Days on March 31, 2023, in the Great Hall of the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music

In Science

Dr. Andra Siibak, professor of Media Studies at the University of Tartu, is nominated for her research contributions (altogether 31 scholarly contributions) from the last five years which deal with the user of new digital technologies and the potential opportunities and risks such as new technological developments create for their users and the society at large
Prof. Habil. Dr. Jurgis Kazimieras Staniškis, the initiator of transdisciplinary research and studies in the Baltic region, is nominated for his transdisciplinary research “Sustainable development: local and global solutions”

© Photo by the Chancellary of Parliament of the Republic of Latvia (Author: Ernersts Dinka) 

Our partners

National and international partners of the Baltic Assembly